Turn Down? For Why Though?

Context: I was once told by a fellow black classmate to “turn my urban down” because I nod my head much while studying.  This is my response.

 

You tell me to turn my urban down but may I ask what makes me urban?  The fact that I bob my head as I bump my music while studying?

But the fact that I’m in the library of a distinguished University studying for my Masters’ Program does not make me urban?

So, my fellow classmates who rock out to whatever they’re listening to get the pass?  You tell me to turn my urban down but it’s OK for them to theirs up while yelling “TURN DOWN FOR WHAT?”

And I should ask you the same, turn down for what?

You tell me turn my urban down as not to embarrass you in front of our colleagues? You tell me turn my urban down to appeal more respectable?  Submissive in behavior? Because there is no way a black man can enjoy himself and considered to be intelligent as well?  Because they can do whatever they want and still be considered elite?  Because they are deemed more valid even as they get hammered and wild out?

You tell me turn my urban down because I can’t be human without being perceived as less than one.  You tell me turn my urban down to silence me unto which I respond, “Turn down deez!”

Leave a Reply

